12 Divisions

KAS Astrology Lessons

Krushnaji had written a series of lessons on KAS during 2000-2002 and he made them available to KAS Yahoo Group members. Mrs. Donna Quinn was kind enough to proof read the lessons and fix typos and grammar to make the lessons easily comprehensible. I am reproducing the KAS lessons here to support new KAS students. The only change I have made is to provide screen shots of charts from online KAS software which uses an improved KAS ayanamsa value than the one that students were using during 2000-2002. 

Credits: All credits go to Krushnaji and Donnaji for providing this wealth of information.

Lesson 3: Planetary Aspects

  • All planets aspect the 7th house from themselves.
  • Saturn aspects the 3 , 7 , and 10 house from itself.
  • Mars aspects the 4 , 7 and 8 house from itself.
  • Jupiter aspects the 5 , 7 and 9 house from itself.
It can also be noted that the lords of opposite houses are enemies of each other. The seventh sign from the uccha (exalted sign) rashi is the neecha (debilitation) rashi of the same planets. For example Cancer is the uccha rashi for Jupiter, and its opposite sign of Capricorn, is the neecha rashi for Jupiter. Similar is the case for other planets. The debilitated sign is always the opposite sign of the exalted sign. Similarly, the rulers of opposite signs are enemies of each other, or at least, they are not friends of each other.

Here is one question that arises: How can a benefic planet aspect its enemy’s house or its neecha rashi by benefic sight?

Certainly it will not as it can only malefically aspect its enemy’s sign. If any planet is in its exalted sign, such as Jupiter in Cancer, its aspect will be on Capricorn, which is its neecha rashi.

As per the write up in the old hand written book, it was clearly mentioned that a planet with more than 4 benefic points will aspect in the same strength, but in a malefic manner. Similarly any planet with less then 4 benefic points, will aspect in a benefic manner, equal to 8 minus the points of the planet. In other words, if any planet has only 2 benefic points then its aspect will be benefic by 8-2 = 6 points. The following table gives the values of the planetary aspects.

Malefic and Benefic Planetary Aspects Table

As you can see in the chart above, the maximum amount of points that any house can receive in the Bhinnashtakavarga chart is 8. By subtracting the benefic points from the maximum allowance of 8, we can easily see the balance of malefic points. If the malefic point balance is more than the benefic point balance, the malefics are the dominating factor for the house. If the benefics outnumber the malefic balance, then the benefic factor dominates the house. Planets having more than 4 points, aspect malefically and planets with less than 4 points, aspect benefically. (In Western astrology, similar results are indicated) In Hindu astrology opposite house rulers are enemies of each other.


If a malefic planet is situated in any particular house, then the results pertaining to that house are said to be spoiled. In fact every house is said to represent more then one event in the life. For example, the fifth house represents education, children, intelligence, emotions, fame and house of crown etc. The presence of any malefic planet in the fifth house should spoil all the above results. But it is not so in every case. Suppose a chart has Cancer as a lagna, and Saturn is situated in the fifth house of Scorpio. Saturn, being a malefic, should give ill results for the things represented by the fifth house. At the same time, Saturn will be aspecting the seventh, the eleventh, and the second house, so it should also spoil the results concerned with all these houses. But it is not experienced in even 1% of the cases. The result is quite different than this.

Generally, it is said that the aspect of a benefic planet is good and that of a malefic planet is bad. But in my studies I have found the reverse to be true, that the aspects of benefic planets are always malefic and the aspects of malefic planets are always found to be benefic. Jupiter, Mercury, Venus and Moon are naturally benefic planets. Saturn and Mars are natural malefic planets. As per the Ashtakavarga theory, the benefic planet is the one that gets more then 4 points in its Ashtakavarga and the malefic planet is the planet that gets less then 4 points, while the planet which gets exactly 4 points is said to be neutral.
After long observation and experimentation, I came to the conclusion that a planet gives the opposite results for its aspect. This means that a planet getting more than four points or bindus, afflicts the house it aspects with negative strength equal to the points it is having. This also proves correct for other aspects of Saturn, Mars and Jupiter. Saturn or Mars, if they are in the house where in their respective Ashtakavargas, they get less then 4 bindus, they give beneficial results for the house they aspect. The total benefic and malefic points a planet gets for any house are eight. This means if a planet gets 3 benefic points for any particular house then definitely it will get 5 malefic points for the same house. Similarly if a planet gets five benefic points in a house where it is, then it will get three malefic points for the same house. Thus the total benefic and malefic points are eight. This is a special effect we get in the Ashtakavarga system. We get the actual result in numerical value for the benefic or malefic effect. Following table will show the actual benefic or malefic bindus (points):
Although if Jupiter, which is said to be most benefic planet, gets less then 4 points i.e. 3, 2, 1, or 0, then definitely it is going to give malefic results for the house. For the same reason some astrologers believe that Jupiter spoils the result of the place where it is situated, which is 50 percent true.
Now as I have mentioned earlier, a planet will give opposite results for its aspected places. A planet with five benefic points will give the aspect effect of five malefic points and vice versa. It should be made clear that even if Jupiter acquires six benefic points in its Ashtakavarga in its place, then for the places it is aspecting, i.e. 5th, 7th, and 9th places from itself, it will send malefic results of six Rekhas (negative points). Obviously, Jupiter will give benefic results for itself in the place where it resides.
The same thing applies to Mars and Saturn as they can both give beneficial results for the house they are situated in if they have more points in any place. At the same time they will spoil the results of the places they aspect (due to the opposite aspect effect).
It is a general notation that the benefic points are denoted by bindus (points) and malefic points are indicated by Rekhas (dashes). From the illustrated tables, it should be clear that every planet contributes both good and bad results for the same house. Only when its benefic points are more, then the planet is said to be benefic. This law is applicable to all the planets including Saturn and Mars (which are naturally malefic).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *