12 Divisions

KAS Astrology Lessons

Krushnaji had written a series of lessons on KAS during 2000-2002 and he made them available to KAS Yahoo Group members. Mrs. Donna Quinn was kind enough to proof read the lessons and fix typos and grammar to make the lessons easily comprehensible. I am reproducing the KAS lessons here to support new KAS students. The only change I have made is to provide screen shots of charts from online KAS software which uses an improved KAS ayanamsa value than the one that students were using during 2000-2002. 

Credits: All credits go to Krushnaji and Donnaji for providing this wealth of information.

Lesson 2: Benefic and Malefic Planets

Exalted or Debilitated Planets

While studying the Ashtakavarga system, I came across some Sanskrit slokas in a old hand written book from the collections of my guru and some other books by Acharya Satyanath, Acharya Vaidyanath, Acharya Utpal etc., which clarify certain rules. I will translate a few of these Slokas in English.


svochchmitradivargasha: kendradibalsnayuta |

Anistha phalda: sarve swalpbinduyuta yadi || (ja shi 10)

MEANING: If any planet is in its exalted sign, or in its own house, or in the house of friends, or is in a square or trine (sthanbali) aspect and it has 3 or less points in its Ashtakavarga, it gives only malefic results. This goes for all the planets. There is no difference made as to whether they are malefic or benefic planets. Jupiter in Cancer is in its exalted sign. When Jupiter is in Sagittarius and Pisces, it is in its own sign. Therefore, if Jupiter is located in any of these signs, it is said to be powerful. But, if the same Jupiter is in Cancer, Sagittarius or Pisces and has 3 or less points in its Ashtakavarga (Bhinnashtakavarga), then it will not be possible for Jupiter to give auspicious results due to its beneficial sign placement. It is clear from this that the strength of the planet cannot be judged just from the sign it is situated in. If the planets are debilitated in the Ashtakavarga, i.e. having 3 or less benefic points for the place it is situated, even if it is in its exalted sign, it is not possible for the planet to give better results.

The following sloka will clarify the meaning even more:


Dushtastansthita yech yech nicharimanshga |

te sarve shubhada nityamadhibinduyuta yadi || (ja shi 11)

MEANING: If any planet that is in its debilitated sign, in its fallen sign, or in the house of its enemy still has more than 4 points in its Ashtakavarga, it will give only benefic results. From these two Slokas, it is clear that the planet will give the result according to the points it gets in its Ashtakavarga. The result is not dependent on the sign or the place it is situated. More Slokas can be referred to clarify this rule:

Ye chavsanaripu randhraturanbhaga |

Ye nichapapripu khecharvargaykta : ||

Ye mandi rashipatinna sah bandhavashch |

Te sarvamukhaphaldastvabindukashchen || (ja shi 55)

MEANING: Planets with 3 or less bindus or points in their own Ashtakavarga, although situated in their exalted sign, or a friend’s rashi (to fortify), or in a trikona (trine) or in a kendra (angle), or even in upchaya houses, will give malefic results.

Arohbiyradhikbhavtulya |

bindadhika: karma bhovodayastha: ||

tungadi vargopagata namoga:|

shadviryavantashcha shubhprada:sthu||

MEANING: Planets with more bindus in their Ashtakavarga, even if situated in their fallen sign, or in the sign of their enemy, or in the dusthana houses (6, 8 or 12), will give only benefic results. It means that the benefic or malefic results of the planets are not dependent on their situation in any particular rashi, but rather through the bindus it acquires in its Ashtakavarga placement. If we try to test every law written in the ancient books with Ashtakavarga, we would be definitely astonished to note the accuracy with which the Ashtakavarga can provide results. Without using this system as an important tool for prediction, we deprive ourselves of a very important foundation for the chart. In the classics, it is also mentioned that an exalted planet means that it has more than 4 points in the sign where it is situated and is debilitated when it has less then 4 points.
Hence we come to a very important rule:
A planet is said to be exalted or debilitated only on the benefic points it gets in its Ashtakavarga. It has nothing to do with the sign in which it is situated.
Important Result:
The planets that get more then 4 points are called benefic planets. Similarly planets that get less then 4 points are called malefic planets, and the planets that get 4 points are known as neutral planets.
The Late Shri K.S. Krishanamurti, founder of K.P. Paddhat, also agrees that the planets do not give the results as per their natural natures. In reference to Jupiter, he states that it has lost its benefic power in the era of Kalyuga and that he has experienced the malefic effects of Jupiter firsthand. But in spite of Kalyuga, I tend to disagree. It is the effect of the points that it receives in its own place that truly makes the difference. An aspect of Jupiter with more points is always malefic. The same rule applies to all planets. With reference to Saturn, Krishnamurti says it gives malefic effects based on the constellation in which it resides. Perhaps, if he would have come across the Ashtakavarga system first, his whole theory would have been quite different.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *